Nominees for 2018 World Athlete of the year are announced

This week marks the opening of the voting process for the 2018 World Athletes of the Year ahead of the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018 in Monaco on Tuesday 4 December.

The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 10 nominees for Female World Athlete of the Year who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The nominees for 2018 Male World Athlete of the Year are:

Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN)

  • World leads at both 1500m and one mile, with nine out of 11 wins across those distances
  • IAAF Diamond League champion
  • Silver medals at the Commonwealth Games and African Championships

Christian Coleman (USA)

  • World indoor record and world indoor champion at 60m
  • World lead and IAAF Diamond League champion at 100m

Armand Duplantis (SWE)

  • European champion at pole vault with a world-leading height
  • World U20 champion
  • Eight world U20 records or bests, indoors and out

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

  • London Marathon champion
  • Berlin Marathon champion with the biggest improvement on a men’s marathon world record since 1967

Emmanuel Korir (KEN)

  • World lead and the world’s fastest at 800m since 2012
  • IAAF Diamond League champion, IAAF Continental Cup winner and African Championships silver
  • World number six at 400m

Noah Lyles (USA)

  • World lead and unbeaten in his five races at 200m, including at the IAAF Diamond League final
  • IAAF Continental Cup winner at 100m and 4x100m
  • World lead at 150m straight

Luvo Manyonga (RSA)

  • IAAF Diamond League and Commonwealth Games champion at long jump
  • Silver medals at World Indoor and African Championships

Kevin Mayer (FRA)

  • World indoor champion at heptathlon
  •  World record at decathlon

Abderrahman Samba (QAT)

  • World lead and unbeaten in nine finals at 400m hurdles, setting the world’s quickest time since 1992
  • Asian Games champion at 400m hurdles and 4x400m
  •  IAAF Continental Cup winner
  • Asian indoor 4x400m champion

Tomas Walsh (NZL)

  • World lead with the world’s longest shot put since 2003
  • World indoor, Commonwealth Games and IAAF Diamond League champion

The nominees for 2018 Female World Athlete of the Year are:

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR)
– European champion and world leader at 100m, 200m and 4x100m
– Second over 100m in the IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
– Commonwealth Games 4x100m gold and 200m bronze

Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN)
– World steeplechase record by eight seconds, backed up by the third-quickest mark of all time
– Winner of seven out of eight steeplechase finals including the IAAF Continental Cup, African Championships and IAAF Diamond League final
– Commonwealth Games silver at 1500m

Sifan Hassan (NED)
– World lead at one mile and 3000m, the latter set when winning at the IAAF Continental Cup
– European champion at 5000m
– European records at 5000m and half marathon
– World indoor medals at 1500m and 3000m

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
– IAAF Continental Cup winner, IAAF Diamond League champion and Central American and Caribbean champion at both long and triple jumps
– World lead and unbeaten in eight finals at triple jump

Mariya Lasitskene (ANA)
– Winner of 25 out of 26 contests at high jump, including the World Indoor Championships, European Championships, IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
– World leads both indoors and out

Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH)
– Unbeaten across five events in 15 races (13 finals and 2 preliminaries), including a 200m/4x100m double at the IAAF Continental Cup
– World lead and three wins at 400m with the world’s fastest time since 2006
– Commonwealth Games and IAAF Diamond League champion at 200m
– World bests at indoor 300m and 150m straight

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
– Winner of 11 out of 13 discus contests, including the European title for a record fifth time
– Had the seven longest throws of the year

Caster Semenya (RSA)
– Unbeaten in her nine 800m finals including the Commonwealth Games, African Championships, IAAF Diamond League final and IAAF Continental Cup
– Commonwealth champion at 1500m and African champion at 400m
– World leads at 800m and 1000m

Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
– European champion, world lead and unbeaten at heptathlon
– World number three at high jump

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)
– European hammer champion
– IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge winner
– World leader


A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on FacebookTwitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closes on 12 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2018.


Similar Posts